Calendar Malaysia Release! – Public Holidays 2017

  • News

Plan your holiday trip? Check out here for Calendar Malaysia – Public Holidays 2017

The Malaysia Public Holidays 2017 will be here before we know it, so start planning your holiday trip now!

Public holidays are non-working days that are officially given by Malaysia’s government to its citizens. In Malaysia they are normally in celebration of an historic event, a significant religious event or commemoration, or the birthdays of Kings, Sultans, or governors. Malaysia Day and National Independence Day are examples of public holidays that celebrate key historical events, while Hari Raya, Christmas and Wesak Day are examples of holidays that are of religious significance.

 

Date Day Holiday Applicable to
1 Jan Sun New Year All except Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Perlis & Terengganu
14 Jan Sat Yang di-Pertuan Besar
Negeri Sembilan’s Birthday
Negeri Sembilan only
15 Jan Sun Sultan of Kedah’s Birthday Kedah only
9 Feb Thu Thaipusam Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya, Johor, Kedah, Negeri Sembilan, Perak, Penang & Selangor only
28 Jan Sat Chinese New Year National
29 Jan Sun Chinese New Year (2nd Day) National
1 Feb Wed Federal Territory Day Federal Territory of Kuala Lumpur, Labuan & Putrajaya only
4 Mar Sat Anniversary of Installation
of Sultan of Terengganu
Terengganu only
23 Mar Thu Sultan of Johor’s Birthday Johor only
14 Apr Fri Good Friday Sabah & Sarawak only
15 Apr Sat Declaration of Malacca as
a Historical City
Malacca only
24 Apr Mon Israk & Mikraj Kedah, Negeri Sembilan & Perlis only
26 Apr Wed Sultan of Terengganu’s Birthday Terengganu only
1 May Mon Labour Day National
7 May Sun Hari Hol Pahang Pahang only
10 May Wed Vesak Day National
17 May Wed Raja Perlis’ Birthday Perlis only
27 May Sat Awal Ramadan * Johor, Kedah & Malacca only
30 May Tue Harvest Festival Sabah & Labuan only
31 May Wed Harvest Festival Sabah & Labuan only
1 Jun Thu Hari Gawai Sarawak only
2 Jun Fri Hari Gawai Sarawak only
3 Jun Sat Yang Dipertuan Agong’s Birthday National
12 Jun Mon Nuzul Al-Quran Kelantan, Pahang, Perak, Perlis, Penang, Selangor, Terengganu and Federal Territories (Kuala Lumpur , Putrajaya and Labuan) only
25 Jun Sun Hari Raya Puasa * National
26 Jun Mon Hari Raya Puasa * National
7 Jul Fri Georgetown World Heritage City Day Penang only
8 Jul Sat Penang Governor’s Birthday Penang only
31 Aug Thu National Day National
1 Sep Fri Hari Raya Haji * National
2 Sep Sat Hari Raya Haji (2nd Day) * Kedah, Kelantan, Perlis & Terengganu Only
9 Sep Sat Sarawak Governor’s Birthday Sarawak only
16 Sep Sat Malaysia Day National
21 Sep Thu Awal Muharram (Maal Hijrah) National
7 Oct Sat Sabah Governor’s Birthday Sabah only
13 Oct Fri Malacca Governor’s Birthday Malacca only
19 Oct Thu Deepavali * National except Sarawak
24 Oct Tue Sultan of Pahang’s Birthday Pahang only
26 Oct Thu Hari Hol Almarhum Sultan Iskandar Johor only
11 Nov Sat Sultan of Kelantan’s Birthday Kelantan only
12 Nov Sun Sultan of Kelantan’s Birthday Kelantan only
27 Nov Mon Sultan of Perak’s Birthday Perak only
1 Dec Fri Prophet Muhammad’s Birthday
(Maulidur Rasul)
National
11 Dec Mon Sultan of Selangor’s Birthday Selangor only
25 Dec Mon Christmas National

* Public Holidays 2017  are Subject to change

If a public holiday falls on a weekly rest day (Friday or Sunday as applicable), the following day shall be a public holiday, and if such following day is also a public holiday, the subsequent day shall be a public holiday.
If a public holiday falls on another public holiday, the following day shall be substituted as a public holiday.

Visit kabinet.gov.my for the original release.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.