Calendar Malaysia Release! – Public Holidays 2017

  • News

Plan your holiday trip? Check out here for Calendar Malaysia – Public Holidays 2017

The Malaysia Public Holidays 2017 will be here before we know it, so start planning your holiday trip now!

Public holidays are non-working days that are officially given by Malaysia’s government to its citizens. In Malaysia they are normally in celebration of an historic event, a significant religious event or commemoration, or the birthdays of Kings, Sultans, or governors. Malaysia Day and National Independence Day are examples of public holidays that celebrate key historical events, while Hari Raya, Christmas and Wesak Day are examples of holidays that are of religious significance.


DateDayHolidayApplicable to
1 JanSunNew YearAll except Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Perlis & Terengganu
14 JanSatYang di-Pertuan Besar
Negeri Sembilan’s Birthday
Negeri Sembilan only
15 JanSunSultan of Kedah’s BirthdayKedah only
9 FebThuThaipusamKuala Lumpur, Putrajaya, Johor, Kedah, Negeri Sembilan, Perak, Penang & Selangor only
28 JanSatChinese New YearNational
29 JanSunChinese New Year (2nd Day)National
1 FebWedFederal Territory DayFederal Territory of Kuala Lumpur, Labuan & Putrajaya only
4 MarSatAnniversary of Installation
of Sultan of Terengganu
Terengganu only
23 MarThuSultan of Johor’s BirthdayJohor only
14 AprFriGood FridaySabah & Sarawak only
15 AprSatDeclaration of Malacca as
a Historical City
Malacca only
24 AprMonIsrak & MikrajKedah, Negeri Sembilan & Perlis only
26 AprWedSultan of Terengganu’s BirthdayTerengganu only
1 MayMonLabour DayNational
7 MaySunHari Hol PahangPahang only
10 MayWedVesak DayNational
17 MayWedRaja Perlis’ BirthdayPerlis only
27 MaySatAwal Ramadan *Johor, Kedah & Malacca only
30 MayTueHarvest FestivalSabah & Labuan only
31 MayWedHarvest FestivalSabah & Labuan only
1 JunThuHari GawaiSarawak only
2 JunFriHari GawaiSarawak only
3 JunSatYang Dipertuan Agong’s BirthdayNational
12 JunMonNuzul Al-QuranKelantan, Pahang, Perak, Perlis, Penang, Selangor, Terengganu and Federal Territories (Kuala Lumpur , Putrajaya and Labuan) only
25 JunSunHari Raya Puasa *National
26 JunMonHari Raya Puasa *National
7 JulFriGeorgetown World Heritage City DayPenang only
8 JulSatPenang Governor’s BirthdayPenang only
31 AugThuNational DayNational
1 SepFriHari Raya Haji *National
2 SepSatHari Raya Haji (2nd Day) *Kedah, Kelantan, Perlis & Terengganu Only
9 SepSatSarawak Governor’s BirthdaySarawak only
16 SepSatMalaysia DayNational
21 SepThuAwal Muharram (Maal Hijrah)National
7 OctSatSabah Governor’s BirthdaySabah only
13 OctFriMalacca Governor’s BirthdayMalacca only
19 OctThuDeepavali *National except Sarawak
24 OctTueSultan of Pahang’s BirthdayPahang only
26 OctThuHari Hol Almarhum Sultan IskandarJohor only
11 NovSatSultan of Kelantan’s BirthdayKelantan only
12 NovSunSultan of Kelantan’s BirthdayKelantan only
27 NovMonSultan of Perak’s BirthdayPerak only
1 DecFriProphet Muhammad’s Birthday
(Maulidur Rasul)
11 DecMonSultan of Selangor’s BirthdaySelangor only
25 DecMonChristmasNational

* Public Holidays 2017  are Subject to change

If a public holiday falls on a weekly rest day (Friday or Sunday as applicable), the following day shall be a public holiday, and if such following day is also a public holiday, the subsequent day shall be a public holiday.
If a public holiday falls on another public holiday, the following day shall be substituted as a public holiday.

Visit for the original release.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.